Did You Fall For This, Too?

When I was a child I used to play in my Grandma’s huge garden, I sat under a tree and made up stories.

I learned some crafts from Gran and startet to sew, to create clothes for my dolls.

I learned cooking and baking and made up my own recipes and for me this act of daily creating and enjoying it was life. I loved it.

This joy ended when school started and I had to spend my days indoors, had to do homework and was only free to do what I love when I had everything else done.

That’s life I was told. I went to university and gave myself a bit more freedom, studied longer – and was a musician, singer, politician and author on the side.

I was told I could do what I love when I had my diploma.

Then I was told to get a decent job and if I would be successful and make lots of money – one day I might be able to do what I love again. Maybe when I’d retire.

I really tried, I believed the “success and money first, joy and fun later”- lie.

I only woke up when a friend died young or unexpectedly, when I was in shock – these moments I realized how short life could be and this “one day” might never come.

Most people I know believe in this lie, we were told from our families and they from their  parents and so on. They didn’t know better, I guess. But it’s a lie.

The lie that you have to earn your freedom.

The lie that you’ll be free “one day” – when you are successful enough, rich enough.

This day for most of us never arrives” – so we never do what we really love, we bury our dreams and think that’s the way is has to be.

Freedom and choices are in the NOW.

“One day” is an illusion, a future that may come or not, who knows.

So, what do you choose NOW?

I choose freedom, joy and fun – and doing what I love NOW!

 

Leave a Reply

