Life is a series of natural and spontaneous changes. Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow. Let reality be reality. Let things flow naturally forward in whatever way they like.

Lao Tzu

I stumbled upon this quote today and I am in a state of continuous change, being moved by a soft yet strong current to the places where I need to be now.

I decided not to resist, to go with it, to embrace change.
That does not mean I am never afraid – sometimes I think I must be crazy, sometimes I think it will never work out…
Most of the time I trust – simply because looking back over my life I can see things always worked out somehow, most times so much better than I expected.
At the moment I am learning to be patient, to go with the flow but stop pushing.
When resistance comes up – which of course still happens, I am as human as you are – I breathe through it, breathing slowly and smoothly in and out.
Slowing down and relaxing my body – until resistance dissolves and I am flowing again.
6 thoughts on “

  1. Um yes! This quote speaks VOLUMES to me today because I am currently in so much pain from a recent event in my life. I am completely heart broken and it’s the worst feeling ever 😦 But I just need to embrace it and move forward.

    • I am so sorry to hear this. I know that “heartbroken” feeling well, been there, too. Before you move on and embrace change, take your time to grieve, that’s an important step. Healing takes time. Hugs, Sabine

  2. That’s a beautiful quote. “Don’t resist them – that only creates sorrow”. I so agree with this. I try to move in the direction life takes me though its not easy always 🙂

  3. I’m not wild about big changes either, especially ones that affect me and I don’t have any control over. I too just take a deep breath and try to roll with it.

  4. This is so true; I am at a crossroads and agonising over which direction I will take. I must stop agonising, relax and trust that all will work out for the best and let events unfold naturally. It is pointless trying to influence something when you can’t yet see your destination clearly.

Leave a Reply

