coelho quote no
Very often we say yes to other people’s demands – co-workers, friends, family members – and ignore the uneasy feeling.
We think we have to continue living as we did before we discovered our creative self.
We don’t want to disappoint our partner, our children, our parents.

And we wonder why we get angry, why we want out of some situations, why we feel so misunderstood.

When I started to work with my creative self, we needed much time, time alone, time to listen, time to write.
When I focussed too much on my “obligations” , on what I “should” do, mostly to keep other people happy I felt something inside rebel against this.
I tried to ignore it. I tried not to listen.

Didn’t work. So sometimes you have to trust yourself, your gut feeling. You have to put yourself first.

The thing is when you give your creative self the room and love it and love yourself more you’ll be able to love others more. You’ll be authentic and loving to others, too.

Where can you say “No” today?

7 thoughts on “

  1. I find it difficult to say no to others sometimes, probably because I was raised in an environment that really advocated pleasing others by saying “yes,” from “yes, I agree” to “yes, I’ll do it.” (i.e. my school; my family wouldn’t preach such) … it’s something I’m trying to change, especially with not saying “no” to myself. Great read, by the way πŸ™‚

  2. Saying ‘NO’ is SOOOOOOOOOO refreshing. Strengthening. Empowering. and on and on. I really need to do it more. Just last week someone was inquiring about my web design services. Somewhere in the convo I sensed this was going to be a customer that needed more time than I was willing to commit to. I politely said ‘No thank you’ without and honestly left the conversation feeling secure that it was the right decision! LOL I like that ‘No’ thing for sure!

  3. Being a single mom, I tend to put everyone’s needs above my own. Honestly, I have been doing it for years, even before my son was born. Just recently, I started to say “NO!” and it has been so exhilarating! I need time for me, and although some people don’t understand, I have to do what’s best for me! Great post – thanks so much for sharing!!!

Leave a Reply

